Welcome to the Department of Soil and Geological Sciences


The Department of Soil and Geological  Sciences (DSGS) is a under the college of Agriculture (CoA) of the Sokoine University of Agriculture. The DSGS has the main obligation of providing training to both undergraduate and postgraduate students, consultancy and advisory services to government departments, farmers, private firms and NGOs on matters related to Soil and Geological Sciences. The DSGS has well trained academic professionals, 13 with PhDs and 4 with MSc. and 2 BSc. degrees. There are eleven qualified and competent technical personnel in the department who run a modern Soil Science laboratory.