The Department of Crop Science and Production (DCSP) was established in 1969 as part of the then Dar es Salaam University College and thereafter (1970) as a Department under the Faculty of Agriculture of the University of Dar es Salaam. When the government elevated the then Faculty of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine into a full-fledged university in July 1984, the department became one of the Departments under the Faculty of Agriculture.